I am tired.

I am tired of social media.

Don’t get me wrong, it is a great thing if used the right way. The problem is I apparently don’t know how to do that.

For one thing, all I ever seem to see on Facebook or twitter anymore are things that make me mad, or worry or sadden me. Maybe it’s the people I’m friends with, maybe it’s just me, I don’t know. All I know is that I can’t get online anymore without seeing something to make my blood boil or my stomach churn. Whether it’s politics or a murder story or something negative about the world in general. The amount of times I see something positive from a friend or family member only sometimes make up for that. Maybe that’s harsh, but it’s true, at least for me.

For another, all of my time is sucked into social media…and not even when I’m on it at that moment. If I’m not on one of my profiles, slowly scrolling through irrelevant slang and quotes repeated a thousand times over, for HOURS, then I’m wondering about what that person meant by that tweet, or if so and so liked my last post, or if my post got any likes at all. It’s a sickness, truly.

Again, this could just be me. I tend to have an obsessive personality, so honestly I probably just haven’t mastered the balance yet. Some people seem to have it down pat, and I applaud those people. And this isn’t some declaration of a newfound philosophy, or me trying to sound great or noble or whatever. This is just me, letting out what I’ve been feeling for a long time now. I know good and well I am not the first to do this; I see people often saying similar things to me, and giving up their social media for at least a period of time to get their lives together, and honest to God it makes me happy to see that. I wish some other people WOULD do that. Not because I think all social media is bad, but because I think everyone at some point gets a little addicted and needs to take a step back sometimes. That happens with other things too, not just the internet. This just seems to be the most popular addiction in this day and age.

And I’m tired of being addicted. I am tired of caring what other screen-masked people in this world think of me, or how many of them follow me. I am tired of worrying about what I post in any way. I am tired of wasting hours a day sitting around doing nothing but scrolling through other peoples’ lives when I should be living my own. I am tired of feeling drained from everything I see. I am simply tired.

So with that, I have deleted all my social media apps. I am not saying for how long, because last time I did that I simply anticipated when I could get the apps back. These posts will still go to my profiles to promote my blog, but other than that I won’t be posting or even checking my twitter. I have family on Facebook so I’ll probably check that sometimes but only when I happen to be on my computer because my phone app is gone.

I just have other things in my life that are so much more important for me to focus on…and I’m tired of being tired. And I think it’s time I did something about it.

Xoxo Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

